Gallery

A Closer Look at an 18th-Century Suit

This magnificent red silk velvet suit from the 1770s had been in our Fashion Timeline exhibition for the past several months but, we recently took it off exhibit. The textile is a remarkable textured velvet and it is  trimmed with silver embroidery and sequins.

1995.17.174a-c.Front

Man’s velvet suit, French, ca. 1778, KSUM 1995.17.174 a-c.

As I was undressing the mannequin I was amazed again at the particular way that 18th century men’s suits were constructed. I snapped a few quick pictures as I was working so I could share.

Sara Hume, Curator

One response to “A Closer Look at an 18th-Century Suit

  1. Thank you Sara. I always appreciate the opportunity to see detail of garments :)

Leave a Reply

